The Little Flower

Today is the feast day of St. Therese of Lisieux! I’ve loved this little saint for most of my life. There’s just something about her. My second child has a great devotion to her as well. Seems fitting as #2 has such a meek and tender spirit that seems to be modeled after St. Therese. It seems that the challenges that are overwhelming my spiritual life could be very well helped by listening to this dear saint again. I have forgotten my “little way” and the significance of it. I have forgotten that God will fill me up, whether I am a thimble or a gallon bucket. I have forgotten that

Our Lord does not come down from Heaven everyday to lie in a golden ciborium. He comes to find another heaven which is infinitely dearer to Him – the heaven of our souls, created in His image, the living temples of the Adorable Trinity.

and

When I am incapable of praying, I want to keep telling Him that I love him. It is not difficult and it keeps the fire burning.

I just need to listen to an old friend (which is usually the case) when they say they know me and know what will help. There is something so strong in a life long friendship.

I’m listening St. Therese, I promise!

So today we’re going to have a celebration. I believe there will be cake, maybe some roses too! I can’t wait to celebrate such a beautiful life devoted to God.